Institute of Advanced Studies



DiotimaThe Professors-at-Large Fellowship provides visiting fellowships to attract eminent scholars, writers, public intellectuals and artists to UWA in conjunction with host departments.

The aim of the program is to provide cross-disciplinary, sustained involvement to both the academic and postgraduate life of the University. Professors-at-Large are provided with travel, accommodation and office space at the Institute. Fellows visit for a minimum of two weeks per year, for two years, with a possibility of a third year, dependent on research outcomes.

The IAS Professor-at-Large Fellowship for distinguished scholars will be replaced by the IAS Distinguished International Visiting Fellowship in 2015. Visit our grants page to find out about other grants offered by the Institute.

2014 IAS Professor-at-Large Fellows

Professor Michael Collins, Emeritus Professor, Southampton University UK & Ikerbasque Fellow, UPV, Spain
Hosts: Chari Pattiaratchi, Environmental Systems Engineering, Gary Kendrick, UWA Oceans Institute and Liang Cheng, Civil and Resource Engineering

Professor James Fourqueran, Department of Biological Sciences and Southeast Environmental Research Center, Florida International University
Hosts: Gary Kendrick and Carlos Duarte, UWA Ocean Institute

Professor Eric Higgs, School of Environmental Studies, University of Victoria (Canada)
Hosts: Richard Hobbs, Plant Biology and Andrea Gaynor, History

Dr JD Hill, Director of Research, The British Museum
Hosts: Alistair Paterson, Archaeology and Alec Coles, WA Museum

Professor Achim Kempf, Department of Applied Mathematics and Physics, University of Waterloo
Hosts: Jingbo Wang and Ian McArthur, Physics

Professor Robert J Naiman, Aquatic & Fishery Sciences, University of Washington
Hosts: Stephen Hopper, Dale Roberts and Paul Close, Centre of Excellence in Natural Resource Management and Peter Davies, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), UWA

Professor Sasha Roseneil, Assistant Dean (Research), School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy, Birbeck, University of London
Hosts: Karen Upton-Davis and Donna Chung, Social Work and Social Policy and Alison Bartlett, Gender Studies

Associate Professor Ole Pedersen, Department of Biology, University of Copenhagen
Hosts: Tim Colmer, Plant Biology, Gary Kendrick, UWA Oceans Institute and Matthew Hipsey, Earth & Environment

Professor Jonathan Rigg, Geography Department, National University of Singapore
Host: Matthew Tonts, Earth & Environment

Nominations for 2014 have now closed.