The Robert and Maude Gledden Senior Visiting Fellows 2019

The Gledden Visiting Fellowships are part of the estate bequeathed to the University by the late Robert John Gledden to promote and encourage education and research at the University in the disciplines of applied science, more particularly relating to surveying, engineering, mining or cognate subjects.  

Fellowships are awarded to enable researchers who are capable of making a significant contribution to the research effort of the University to undertake a period of collaborative research with a UWA host.

Ten fellowships were awarded for 2019. The recipients are:

Susana Bernal Berenguer, Ramon y Cajal Researcher, Spanish Research Council in Blanes (CEAB-CSIC).
UWA Host: Professor Carolyn Oldham, Department of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering

Jon Blundy, Professor of Petrology, University of Bristol
UWA Host: Associate Professor Marco Fiorentini, Centre for Exploration Targeting (CET), School of Earth Sciences

Kiyoyuki Chinzei, Deputy Director, Health Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan
UWA Host: Winthrop Professor Karol Miller, Director of Intelligent Systems for Medicine Laboratory

Lijun Deng, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Alberta
UWA Host: Professor Phil Watson, Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems

Jeffrey Gordon, Department of Solar Energy & Environmental Physics, Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
UWA Host: Professor Hui Tong Chua, Chemical Engineering

Chris Hawkesworth, School of Earth Sciences, University of Bristol
UWA Host:  Dr Tony Kemp, School of Earth Sciences

Chulmin Joo, Assistant Professor, School of Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University
UWA Host: Professor Barry Cense, OBEL, EECE, School of Engineering

Mehdi Shadaram, Briscoe Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Associate Dean of Engineering and founding Director of the Center for Excellence in Engineering Education at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA).
UWA Host: Professor Roberto Togneri, Head of Department, Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering