Issue 9, December 2008

David Hodgkinson is a member of The Hodgkinson Group, Aviation and Climate Change Advisors; Special Counsel with Clayton Utz; and Executive Director of EcoCarbon, Inc. He is also a Visiting Fellow in the Law School at the University of Western Australia. He is the co-author of Global Climate Change: Australian Law and Policy (LexisNexis/Butterworths, Sydney, 2008) and the general editor of the forthcoming Climate Change Law and Policy in Australia.

Gavin Mooney is Honorary Professor of Public Health at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney. He was formerly Chair of the Social and Public Health Economics Research Group (SPHERe) at Curtin University, Western Australia and co-convenor of the WA Social Justice Network.

Jessica Panegyres is in the final year of her Law/Arts degree at UWA. She would like to thank the anonymous referees of this publication for their valuable contribution to this paper.

Mustafa Qadri is a freelance journalist from Sydney, Australia who has lived and worked in Israel and the Occupied Palestinian Territories, including earlier this year during events marking the 60th anniversary of Israel’s creation and the Al Nakba. You can see more of his work at

Cameron Raynes is an independent researcher and writer but prefers to make things up. He won the Josephine Ulrick Literary Prize in 2008 for his short story, 'Taxi'.

David Ritter is The New Critic's London based Editor-at-Large.

Julian Roche is a Director of the Western Australia Policy Forum.