Expand your mind with the Institute of Advanced Studies.

Each year the Institute hosts or co-hosts public talks and other events by distinguished visiting and local scholars, artists, writers and public intellectuals. These events contribute to our goal of sharing current research, new ideas and encouraging discussion and debate within the broader community.

Public Talks in 2021

Online Seminar Series: Religion, Crisis and Disaster

Convenors: Richard Vokes, The University of Wesetern Australia & Cristina Rocha, University of Western Sydney

Global online, via Zoom   |  Password: Arsenal

February 24 – April 28, 2021 

Start time: 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Except for Coleman: Tues 2nd, 8pm Toronto | Weds 3rd, 9am Perth | Weds 24, 12pm Sydney.

More info: [email protected] or [email protected]

Feb 24

Prof Birgit Meyer (Utrecht, Philosophy and Religious Studies)
‘Religion and the Pandemic’

March 3

Prof Simon Coleman (Toronto, Anthropology and Religious Studies)
‘Pilgrimage Through the Pandemic: Crisis, Contagion and the Remaking of Presence’

March 10

Dr Ramon Sarro (Oxford University, Anthropology)
‘1921-2021: One Hundred Years of Crisis and Prophecy’

March 17

Dr Richard Vokes (University of Western Australia, Anth & Sociology), Prof Cristina Rocha, & Dr Kathleen Openshaw (Western Sydney, Anthropology)
‘Becoming Burundian, African and Black in Australia: Pentecostalism, Disruption, and the Everyday Politics of Place’

March 31: Dr Katrien Pype (Leuven, Anthropology and African Studies)
‘Kinshasa’s Pastors and Sex Scandals: Reconsidering Exposure, Accountability, and Sacred Bodies’

April 7

Prof David Gellner (Oxford University, Anthropology)
‘Religion and Crisis in Nepal’

April 14

Dr Sam Han (University of Western Australia, Anth & Sociology)
‘Shincheonji and Covid-19: Observations on Biopolitical Mediatization in South Korea’

April 21

Dr Martijn Oosterbaan (Utrecht, Anthropology)
‘Mystical in/security: Perpetual Crises, Religion and Urban Margins Across the Globe’

April 28

Dr Clara Saraiva (University of Lisbon, Anthropology)
‘Is God in the House Tonight? Ritual Despair and Empty Temples’


Listen to past talks

Masterclasses